Lollipop

Lollipop

Those summer nights

still fresh in my mind

as we lay on our roof top

gazing the stars

finding their look alike

spotting the Orion

drawing shapes in the sky

joining the dots

flaunting my calibre

made animals and virtual flowers

But waiting to spot

the shooting star showers

and just then again like each times

bedazzled by it’s light

I forget to wish upon it’s swift flight

now thinking what to wish for again if I see

breaking my thoughts

softly he speaks

‘the moon is on leave today

and so is the breeze’

I listen with rapt attention

to my dad as he knows more

about galaxies and world beyond our reach

seeing a cluster he pointed joyfully

that’s an Andromeda my darling

many light years away

the name as big as the distance

made no sense to my compact mind

though it looked like a lollipop 

I promised to pronounce it right

on our next star gazing night.

 

                                             

                                            Daily Prompt Lollipop

Author: Preeti S. Manaktala

A Montessorian with a dream of opening a school which would nurtures young minds. A mother who believes in creating good memories for her children. A writer who is on a beautiful unknown path to write some heart felt stuff. A learner and a seeker. Writing makes me happy and gives my thoughts a voice. Taking baby steps towards something very wonderful and beautiful ahead.. 😊

3 thoughts on “Lollipop”

Comments are closed.